FOX duo of Troy Aikman, Joe Buck offer harsh assessment of Cowboys' offense

p1_

DCC 4Life
Truth hurts? FOX duo of Troy Aikman, Joe Buck offer harsh assessment of Cowboys' offense: 'I'm not seeing any creativity'

By Brad Townsend , Staff Writer Contact Brad Townsend on Twitter: @townbrad

Joe Buck is a play-by-play man by trade. Fox primarily pays him to provide facts, insight, color and sparing analysis.

Opinion? That is supposed to be the realm of Buck's longtime Fox No. 1 NFL team booth-mate, Troy Aikman.

As the final seconds ticked away of a pitiful Cowboys' first half on Sunday in Charlotte, however, Buck couldn't help himself. Actually, he simply told it like it was to the national audience, but the facts themselves were damning.

"The Dallas Cowboys' re-imagined offense: No Dez, no Witten, they have six receptions in the half, 46 yards," Buck said. "They have four first downs and 61 total yards. This has been a whiff in the first half."

Aikman chimed in that the Cowboys also were 0-for-5 on third-down conversions. Surely, Cowboys fans weren't expecting Aikman and Buck to sugarcoat a rosy picture of a first half in which Dak Prescott totaled 61 yards passing and Ezekiel Elliott had 18 rushing yards on seven carries, were they?.

Carolina 10, Cowboys 0.

"Cowboys didn't run a play in the half in Carolina territory and have been penalized 60 yards," Buck said.

Earlier in the half, when Cowboys receiver Allen Hurns failed to gain separation on a third-down out-route and Prescott tossed the ball out of bounds, Aikman opined, harshly, but accurately:

"Well, Allen Hurns is the big free-agent acquisition from Jacksonville, No. 17 . . had injuries the past couple of years . . but he doesn't have speed. . . he's not going to threaten anybody down the field."