How to (easily) quit this team

midswat

... soon
The other day I had a long PM exchange with @NoDak where he asked me how I overcame the sickness that is being a Dallas Cowboys fan. After I explained it to him, he sent a number of long winded messages praising me for my brilliance, my resiliency, before ultimately making it weird by asking for pictures of my belly button. But he also recommended I share this with you all...

Back story: I was a die hard like I guess everyone here. Flew to Dallas from Virginia multiple times to see games. Bought my kids Cowboys swag. Spent countless wasted hours posting and moderating Cowboys forums. Planned life events and work related issues just so I could watch the Cowboys play. True story: when I was a Realtor, I had people call me about one of my listings. Problem is, it was a Sunday afternoon and we were about to play the Jaguars. So instead of meeting them and trying to close the deal, I referred them to a colleague. They ended up buying the house. I made the commission as the listing agent, but I could've had commission for the sales agent as well had I not been such a diehard. Cowboys played like shit and we lost that game, btw. :budd

My point is simply that there was a time in my life when I lived and died by this team. I. Could. Not. Get. Enough.

When he was initially hired, I bought into Garrett. He mostly looked and sounded the part and I liked the idea of a home grown coach. Good story. Plus I loved the team so I was rooting for him.

After the three straight 8-8 seasons where had we won our week 17 game, we'd get into the playoffs, only to see us lose - I was done with Garrett. I suspected he was a fraud prior and there were countless frustrations... but it was then that I basically started rooting for losses.