Mailbag: Where Does Barrett Jones Fall On Draft Boards?

boozeman

28 Years And Counting...
Staff member
Mailbag: Where Does Barrett Jones Fall On Draft Boards?

Posted 11 hours ago

BRIAN LITTLEJOHN
JACKSONVILLE, NC
I was hoping to see Barrett Jones selected in more of the writer's mock drafts. Does his Lisfranc injury overshadow his versatility and take him off of the Cowboys’ draft board?

David: As a former LSU writer, I saw plenty enough of Barrett Jones to think he's got the tools for success in the NFL. He's as smart a college player as I've ever been around, and he's versatile, as you mentioned. This draft seems quite deep along the offensive front, however, and it seems dangerous to spend a high pick on a guy who hasn't been at full health since his college career ended.

Rowan: I think the injury might scare teams away from selecting him early. Jones’ best asset is probably his versatility. He was clearly smart enough to play all across the line during his time at Alabama, where offensive linemen seem to grow on trees. His ability isn’t a question, but it may be difficult to pin where he’ll play at the next level, and it takes some courage to select a player who isn’t healthy. But if he’s healthy, he could be a steal in the third round or later.

MARCELLUS VEISLAND
LUND, SWEDEN
With the O-line being what it is, wouldn't it make sense to pick a RB like Marcus Lattimore? He seems to be strong and always tries to fight for those extra yards.