Archer: Jakar Hamilton hoping for a chance

Cotton

One-armed Knife Sharpener
Staff member
Jakar Hamilton hoping for a chance
November, 16, 2014

By Todd Archer | ESPNDallas.com

IRVING, Texas -- The loss of Tyler Patmon for at least a few weeks due to a knee injury leaves the Dallas Cowboys with issues in the secondary.

They have just three healthy cornerbacks on the 53-man roster in Orlando Scandrick, Brandon Carr and Sterling Moore. They have Micah Pellerin on the practice squad and could call him up to the active roster, but they could also look to Jakar Hamilton, who is more of a safety by trade.

"One of the things that Jakar showed us in training camp is that he can play a nickel spot," coach Jason Garrett said. "So he did a lot of that when we had some injuries in camp and did a nice job with it. I don't want to say this in a negative way, but surprisingly so. We kind of viewed him as a safety and then day after day in camp he was playing down around the line of scrimmage in that nickel spot and seemed to handle it fairly well. That's certainly part of the equation as we figure out what our options are. And then Micah Pellerin, our practice squad corner, has a chance to move up. As this week goes on, we'll figure out what the best moves are based on Patmon's availability."

Patmon's playing time increased as the Cowboys went to more dime defenses in recent games. Going with only three corners on game day might be too much of a risk, so Pellerin could be the better bet. But getting an extra corner and Hamilton active is possible.

Hamilton was suspended the first four games for violating the NFL's drug policy. He was on a roster exemption for the fifth game. He has been inactive for the five games he has been on the 53-man roster.

Hamilton said he's "grateful to still be here," alluding to his suspension.